A new approach

After eating tetrazzini leftovers for what seemed like weeks, I finally cleared out my fridge (in part because the parents are coming this weekend so I figured it was time for some cleaning and purging). It meant I could finally whip up a new dish. I found the Ginger and Scallion Stir-Fried Brown Rice recipe when I spotted the tetrazzini one but had to put it on hold for a bit.

This time I took my cooking approach a little differently. The tetrazzini cooking was a bit overwhelming, so I thought I’d pace myself for once. I cooked the rice and then the chicken before even starting the dish. Heck, I even measured out a few of the ingredients so I could just toss them in when the recipe called for it so I wouldn’t have to multi-task. It was a big step for me.

But you know I had to make a few modifications. I bought a corn, pea and carrot veggie blend instead of just the carrots and sugar snap peas and I also threw in chicken for some protein. I’m obsessed with ginger, so I ended up putting in quite a bit more than the recipe called for – but I loved it.

Much to my surprise, I also put in onions. It all seemed to come together nicely until I put in the egg. Normally I love eggs in my fried rice, but for some reason this just seemed to coat the rice instead of becoming its own item. It changed the consistency of the dish a bit, but I assume it was part of the process.

I have to admit I wasn’t initially sold. Part of it is that I’m big on stirring. In my opinion it makes a huge difference in the dish. I wondered if perhaps the eggs didn’t cook as well because of the amount of other stuff in the skillet. It coated the other ingredients but didn’t mix well together. In the end, I took a small portion of the rice and fried it again in a smaller saucepan while thoroughly mixing, which I think really helped.

Not sure how I’ll handle leftovers (will I want to fry it again?) but it wasn’t bad for my first attempt at fried rice. I’m usually skeptical to try Chinese food since it never compares to my two go-to restaurants (the owner of my favorite place in Columbia finally recognizes me! We don’t have quite the relationship my family has with the owner of our favorite Chinese restaurant in Sioux Falls, but give it time…)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

