Not all who wander are lost

It’s almost embarrassing how much I’ve neglected my blog in these last two weeks.

I can’t quite explain it, but it’s been a strange couple of weeks. Part of it was the strain of constant activity. I didn’t realize it until I was traveling for work this past week and finally had alone time, but I almost felt inundated with social events and a go-go-go schedule. Not to say it was bad, though. Last weekend was full of birthday festivities where I even got to be a little creative:

Not bad, right? I’m still not a baker by any means and would rather whip up a pasta or chicken dish any day of the week, but I have to admit this is a bit more dramatic and fun.

But back to my odd mood. Traveling for three days definitely helped me refocus and decompress. Instead of working or trying to be productive while I was in hotels (which normally includes blogging), I curled up with The Upside of Fear. I don’t even know what drew me to the book, but it’s sometimes the random finds at the library that become some of the more interesting reads. It wasn’t until I started reading that I realized how important the author thought self introspection and improvement was.

I began to read. I read every kind of success and personal development book I could get my hands on – Christian, Buddhist, atheist or  Mormon, I didn’t care. I decided to try the things I read about and see what happened. Maybe my life would improve. I had absolutely nothing to lose.

It seems like I’ve been looking for inspiration lately. Fall is just around the corner. People are going back to school, the weather is finally nice enough where I can be outside for more than 5 minutes without suffocating and everyone seems to be in much better moods because of these changes. I absolutely love it, but in some ways it’s left me feeling restless for something more or for a change. I just don’t know what that is.

So like the quote, I find myself reading anything that might make a lightbulb go off. Like this:

I think it will be another week of self introspection…and pinterest. It’s time to dive into some reading, crafts, cooking and blogging to get back to what I love doing.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

