A splash of spice

The middle sister came to Columbia this weekend for a much-needed visit and with the promise of homemade salsa. She made her first batch of the season a few weeks ago and I’d been craving it ever since. Bright and early Saturday morning, we ventured to the farmers market where we made a new best friend.

(Side note: I wish we could have made a best friend on a trail at Rock Bridge State Park later that day. We had a stare down – I kid you not – with a deer just mere feet ahead of us for a solid five minutes before we decided to just go back the way we came. And those who know me know I don’t stay cool under pressure. You can just about imagine how this interaction went. It was also humorous given the middle asked me 15 minutes earlier if I’d ever seen wildlife in the area and I said no. There’s a first time for everything I guess.)

But back to our new best friend at the farmers market. We were on the lookout for 2nd tomatoes for our salsa when one of the sellers overheard us comparing peppers. Not only did he have stellar 2nd tomatoes, but he put together a salsa-making box for us complete with 20 pounds of tomatoes, peppers and onions for a crazy good price. And apparently not just any onions – just look at the size of it!

For the next hour I double fisted (because I’m that classy) between my coffee cup and the middle’s food processor (which naturally got me thinking about purchasing my own). It all came together beautifully:

As you can tell, it made a ton of salsa. I’ll be eating salsa for probably the next month, and I’m completely okay with that.

Since we had all that extra onion, we also decided to try onion strings. Most of the recipes we found weren’t entirely healthy, so we improvised with a baked onion ring recipe. For not liking onions, I was surprised by how much I loved it! Not only that, but I think it’d make a great topping to a burger (which I may actually try later tonight…).

The other dish we whipped up was a pasta salad. The ingredients? Just pasta, basil, tomatoes and salt to taste. That’s it. My sister sent me the recipe a month or so ago, but because it didn’t have any dressing, I didn’t have any interest in trying it. I should have known I’d eat my words. I’d rank this pasta salad above all the others I make – and that’s big coming from a girl who loves her sauces, spices and seasonings.

Needless to say, I’m ending this weekend feeling full and content. Apparently the middle needs to come more often to spice things up!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “A splash of spice

  1. Good day! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room
    mate! He always kept chatting about this.

    I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have
    a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

