Timing is key

While I get most of my recipes from pinterest, my meal last night was inspired by something a little different. I used to be an avid magazine reader, and given the opportunity I still am. Most of the time, though, I’ve got a stack of magazines in bins (two bins to be exact) under my coffee table.

A few weeks ago I went through a magazine binge and read probably half a dozen magazines in an afternoon. It was then that I came across a recipe for roasted arctic char with orange-lentil salad. For whatever reason, I saw the finished product and just had to make it. It’s been clipped to my fridge ever since, and last night I finally decided to give it a shot.

The recipe is a little deceiving. I figured it would only take 25 minutes to whip up.

Wrong.

First I had to cook the lentils, which I didn’t realize needed to boil and then simmer for two hours. I looked at the clocked, looked at the lentil bag and looked back at the clock.

Minor aside and rant  — I love zumba. Most Tuesdays and Wednesday evenings I won’t schedule anything because I want to go to zumba. However, a 7:00/7:15 class complicates my schedule. Most evenings I get home from work around 5:30. Do I whip up something before I leave at 6:30/6:45? Will that impact how I feel during the class? But waiting until after means I don’t eat until 8:30 or 9.

First world problems, right? (I’ve actually got a pretty system down by this point and usually just don’t make new recipes on Tuesdays or Wednesdays. Yesterday was a fluke.)

Anywho, I decided to be a little brave and let the lentils simmer while I went to zumba (and believe me – every couple of songs during class my mind would flash to my burning stove at home). Thankfully all turned out fine and the timing was perfect. Once the lentils were done, the meal came together quite nicely. It didn’t look quite as pretty as the picture, but not bad:

Perhaps I’m just used to rice or potatoes for sides, but it felt like the lentils were lacking a bit of substance. I also wish it had more orange flavor, but I’d already tripled the amount of orange zest and knew more orange juice would just make it more liquidy. (I even tripled the amount of onions the recipe called for — crazy, I know.) It could also be that it I didn’t use the fish they recommended. Instead I used salmon, and maybe that just doesn’t complement the orange-lentil flavor as much. Who knows.

While I don’t think I’d make this recipe again, the lentil package did have a great recipe for a Cajun chicken dish… That may be a challenge for next week. For now, I’m off to zumba!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

