Asian flare

My challenge of cooking meals outside of my comfort zone continues.

I found a dish last weekend that looked great on pinterest (how many of my recipes don’t come from pinterest nowadays??) but I was a little nervous about trying soba noodles with the sweet ginger sauce. It looked great and I absolutely love ginger and most Asian dishes, but would it really turn out like the photo? As you can tell, not quite.

Looks can be a bit deceiving, though, since it wasn’t a failure by any means.

First, the soba noodles. Thankfully Lindsay knew what they were and how to find them since I had no idea. Truth be told, though, the noodles weren’t that much different from your average angel hair pasta. I’m glad I tried it, but I wouldn’t splurge on them again. The one thing I didn’t splurge on this time around was the chili oil. At nearly $8 for a 6-oz bottle, it wasn’t going to happen given that the recipe only called for 2 teaspoons of it. It might have added some kick to it, but to me it wasn’t worth it. Other than adding chicken, the rest of the dish was pretty straightforward.

I think what leaves me feeling torn about the recipe is that, given the ingredients, I expected more flavor. While I wouldn’t make this exact dish again, a few modifications could liven it up a bit. Throwing in broccoli, bamboo shoots and water chestnuts would add some variety as would red onions (did I really just say that?) or shallots. I also love the idea of incorporating things like ginger into future pasta or chicken dishes. Even though I love ginger, I never would have thought of that had it not been for this recipe.

For my leftovers I’m going to throw in some teriyaki sauce and the Asian-style zucchini side dish  in the photo (not to mention more ginger) to see if that does the trick. If nothing else, cooking outside the box is getting me to be a bit more creative.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

