Old fashioned meal

Lately I’ve been striving to get out of my comfort zone with cooking. Generally when I try out new recipes, I’ll get to the end and realize just how similar it is something else I whipped up a few weeks prior. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, but it does make it hard to distinguish really good dishes.

Last night I decided to cook with something I don’t use much of — pork. I was torn between cilantro lime pork chops (in part because the blogger mentioned good ol’ South Dakota (!!!) and also because I have a bunch of cilantro I feel like I should use up) and honey and spice-glazed pork chops. Given my recent experience with the strong (not bad, mind you) chili lime pasta salad, I thought my taste buds deserved something different and went with the latter.

And boy am I glad I did!

Something about the glaze pops and I will undoubtedly make it again, which is big considering I’m normally not all that jazzed about pork. I did throw in a dash of teriyaki sauce into the glaze since I wasn’t sure I would like that much honey. I’m not sure if that made a huge difference, but regardless the end result was fabulous. (And I need to learn to start beating chicken and pork before I place them in the skillet. It always manages to throw off my cooking time and I have to cut the meat in half just to make sure it cooks thoroughly).

I paired the pork chops with fresh green beans since I love all greens. (Although how bad is it that I actually had to google how to cook fresh beans? In my defense, my dad usually used a steamer, so I never had to actually cook them.) Wanting to add a bit more zest to it, I found a simple recipe to generate some ideas from  – although no way was I going to use a stick of butter. I (willingly) put in sautéed onions and also used lemon juice, since I love it on broccoli, asparagus and zucchini. I have to admit it wasn’t as great as steamed green beans, but I don’t foresee myself making an investment in a steamer anytime soon.

I’ve also decided that instead of roasting red potatoes, I’m sticking to sweet potatoes. I gave it a shot last weekend just for the heck of it and it’s definitely become my potato of choice. I think in large part it’s because it has so much more flavor, even though I use far less seasoning on it. Red potatoes taste bland and somewhat starchy to me, so I feel like I go overboard on seasonings. With sweet potatoes, I just need a dash of salt and pepper and that’s it. It’s fabulous.

The recipes may not be too outside of my comfort zone, but it was some good home cooking if I do say so myself!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Old fashioned meal

  1. Michelle

    My favorite pork recipe right now is a 1/2 cup soy sauce and 1/4 cup honey marinade and then grill them. I hate the smell of soy sauce but it tastes amazing! Keep trying out new recipes- it’s fun to see how it works out for you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

