A little at a time

For some reason, motivation struck early yesterday morning to start purging my “stuff” again. My closet is once again organized and widdled down again to just the clothes I wear on a regular basis. I was actually surprised by how much my hanger approach worked. For once I had “proof” that I wasn’t wearing certain shirts. And this time I allowed myself no mercy. Clearly if I haven’t worn it in 6+ months, I’m not going to anytime soon.

I actually think going through my photos was what started my purge. So far it’s been great to do it in increments, but I’ll admit that I started with the easier photos first – the cooking and crafting. It’s easy to pick out the blurry or crappy photos (running total in my trash so far is about 186 — not bad for my first two days of purging and organizing). It’s also been nice because I now have a folder on my desktop for my recipe book. You know, the one I started talking about more than six months ago. I’m thinking that should be a good fall or winter project.

The task of photo sorting/deleting will get a little harder later this week when I start to go through photos that I have a more personal attachment to, like family and pets. As blurry or crappy as the photo may be, I just don’t think I can bring myself to delete any photos of my chocolate. I may brag about my golden and black lab, but Maggie was my 90-pound baby for a good 12 years. She’ll always take the cake.

I’m also finding the sentimental attachment is what’s making it hard to organize and clear out my spare room. After Lindsay successfully organized her desk to make for a more productive space, I wanted to do the same. I’ve got the spare room, so I may as well use it, right?

So far it’s feeling much more open and clutter-free (and I’m actually writing my post from there as opposed to my bedroom or dining room table, so progress is definitely being made). There’s still some work to be done, though, and I’m hoping to have more of the no-mercy mentality I had with my closet. Do I really need the bulk of my class notes and assignments from grad school? Probably not. But it also represents a lot of hard work and projects that helped me discover my love for data and evaluation.

Let’s hope I can strike a balance between my sentimentality and my need for organization and clutter-free spaces…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

