Brevity and depth

Lately when I have a few minutes to spare, I read a couple pages from Not Quite What I Was Planning. I posted a month or so ago about my discovery of the idea and how awesome I think this guy is (and by awesome I mean he reminds me of me).

For some reason these six-word memoirs are a lot more interesting than I thought they’d be. What I really enjoy is the interesting mix of messages and emotions. Some “memoirs” were thought-provoking and deep while others had me laughing out loud.

“I am trying, in every regard.” Lionel Shriver
“Now I blog and drink wine.” Peter Bartlett
“Love the men. Hate the commitment.” Lindsay Filz
“All night phone calls complete me.” Harry Manning
“Doing more for less is life.” Rondell Conway
“The shit invariably hits the fan.” Ashleea Nielsen
“Forty five. Never married. Oh poo.” Sonia Oney
“I live the perfect imperfect life.” Paul Lore
“Saw the world; now where’s home?” Hannah Silverstein
“Never could resist overachieving.” Chris Harris
“Must remember: people, gadgets. That order.” Brian Lam

I’ve naturally been trying to figure out what my six word response to “not quite what I was planning” would be. Given that brevity is not my strong suit, it’s been a challenge to say the least. It’s also difficult to decide which route to take – funny or philosophical? Witty or serious? Finally last night, it hit me.

Still waiting for life to happen. 

Sounds a bit depressing, right? To be honest, after I came up with that I desperately tried to think of something more positive and upbeat before I admitted defeat. The more I thought about it, the more I realized how fitting it was for my life given all the semi-life chats I’ve had on my blog and with friends lately. I’m not at all where I planned or hoped I would be at this juncture in my life.

In retrospect, though, I’m much better off because of it. This is a crucial part in my life that I’m just now learning to embrace. I’ve gained so much more independence, learning to live on my own and discovering my interests, passions and the expectations I have for others and myself. I may not have a dog or house or significant other like I thought I would, but I’ve also learned that those things don’t magically make your life more complete either. This is a time for me to focus on me.

Perhaps there’s a bit of optimism in my six-word “memoir” after all.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

