Woot woot!

As if the title wasn’t a dead giveaway, I’m beyond ecstatic about a crafting project I just finished. It’s something I’ve been eying on pinterest for months (literally) and I figured there was no time like the present. And thankfully these step by stop instructions made it incredibly easy. I started with painting two white canvases charcoal gray (which actually made me wish I had more painting/artistic talents, but you can’t win them all). Halfway through I almost wish I would have gotten another color that pops more, but I’m so glad I didn’t.

Surprisingly cutting the leaves wasn’t terrible. When I initially saw the decor on pinterest and even when I was reading the instructions, I figured this was going to be where I screwed up the project. After I crossed that hurdle, I started to worry about laying out the leaves so it actually looked presentable, but even that wasn’t bad. It didn’t even occur to me until I was laying out the second canvas that I could make them somewhat matching and symmetrical.

Then I broke out my trusty glue gun, which I always love doing. Not even an hour later, the two canvases were up on my wall, adding a fabulous splash of color to the room.

The funny thing is, I hadn’t even intended to put the two canvases there. Since I had no idea how this would turn out, I was half thinking they would end up in my office or my dining room area (or hell, even my closet). I was mostly using this as a trial run for another project I want to do for my living room. (My heart has been set on one of the first things I ever pinned on pinterest, although I want to invert the colors so the dark purple is the background to add a lot more color to the room). Given the success, though, I’m definitely ready to tackle that project!

What I really loved was how inexpensive it was to create, which I didn’t completely believe when I read the instructions. I got a pack of two canvases, charcoal gray acrylic paint, a brush and six pieces of scrapbook paper for all of $15.  And the only time-consuming part was having the paint dry, which only took half an hour anyway (which is the perfect amount of time to cut the leaves). Considering it also inspired two more crafting ideas that I’m hoping to jump into this week, this project was definitely worth the time and effort!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Woot woot!

  1. Love them!!! I need to try this!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

