Holiday festivities

A post is better late than never, right?

The 4th of July has always been one of my favorite holidays. Between the Twilight Zone marathon (a family tradition on the 4th and new year’s eve), BBQ, friends and fireworks, how is it not a stellar day? While I didn’t get to shoot off any fireworks myself (which is probably for the best since I’m kind of a pyro…) I did get to see a fabulous display in St. Louis following a Cardinals game. Quintessential celebration if you ask me.

Before that, though, I had to be creative with my celebrating. After seeing all the other creative 4th of July dishes (Michelle’s cake pops look beyond amazing!) my fruit kabobs seems a little less exciting. Even so, they were tasty, fun and super easy to whip together (although I feel like I have to confess that I used a box mix for the brownies. Baking just isn’t my thing). Plus being a fan of colorful dishes, this was perfect.

Having a BBQ also meant I got to try a new recipe. I’ve been eyeing spicy Hawaiian burgers since I found it on pinterest a couple months ago. I’ve got a weakness for pineapple, especially when it’s grilled. And let me tell you, this burger did not disappoint! Even as leftovers we all loved it. It’s definitely a recipe I’ll be whipping up again this summer. I didn’t really make any modifications to it either, although I did use ground turkey instead of chicken since it was about half the price.

Now that the excitement of the 4th is over, it’s time to recharge my batteries and start plotting my next crafting and cooking ventures.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Holiday festivities

  1. Yum! I can guarantee your fruit skewers were much kinder to Operation Eat Healthy than the cake pops! 🙂 You need to do some crafting so I can steal your ideas ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

