Onward and upward

While it’s hard to believe it’s already July, it also makes me incredibly happy. I absolutely love the 4th of July…and it means my June goals are done! Here’s a recap:

Read 50 pages. Check! The more I found myself reading, the more I realized it wasn’t necessarily about finding the time to read – it was about finding books that drew me into the story or fell into my introspection/happiness quest. Two Sundays ago I spent the whole afternoon reading one book from cover to cover. This past week I was getting up early just so I could start my day off on a positive note, and it actually worked. Not only that, but Lindsay and I have decided to start our own book club! That will definitely keep me reading (and hopefully expose me to other books outside of my normal inspirational, introspective books).

Spend one afternoon/evening with myself. I’m starting to love my alone time. And actually, it’s what I intend to do today. I have yet to tackle my spare bedroom and I’ve added two more books to my “to be read” pile. Whether it’s productive or relaxing, lately it’s my alone time that helps me recharge my batteries.

Only drink pop once. Another check! It was hard at times, since I find it incredibly hard to get psyched up about a nice cup of hot coffee when it’s 100 degrees outside. I relied primarily on iced coffee and iced tea (which makes me sound like a caffeine addict, but I’m pretty sure everyone knew that already). After awhile, when I did have pop, it didn’t really hit the spot. The first sip might have, but then it was like any other drink. I’m glad I’ve been able to scale back from my beloved Diet Coke.

Try something new. At times this goal felt like a pain, but looking back, it was probably the most rewarding and fun. I learned how to play ping-pong (not well, mind you), wore dresses, went to an outdoor barn theater and attended a meetup.com event. I’d like to start adding new “adventures” to my week nights to really keep things interesting, but so far I’ve loved finding different activities and venues in good ol’ CoMo.

Log 14 miles. At the rate I was working out, I probably could have done Juneathon. In some ways it was good because it was the motivation I needed to get to the gym a bit more than I normally do. But it was also a pain in the ass — particularly last week when I realized I only needed .25 miles on Saturday to reach that 14 miles. Oh well. I’ve got my personal best mileage for the month so I can get back to focusing on quality instead of quantity for my workouts.

Set up a monthly budget. I still hate thinking about money. I’ve got a general budget set up, but now comes the difficult part of following it. We’ll see how it goes these first couple months to see if I was realistic in my budgeting. I’m still a newbie at this.

June was definitely a busy month, and in different ways each goals did serve a purpose. Through the books I’ve been reading this month, I’ve discovered that goals aren’t always the be-all, end-all. What if you don’t reach them? What if they don’t provide the sense of fulfillment or accomplishment you thought they would? Ultimately with my goals I try to find things that will enhance my life or push me to the next level (like with my workouts). I was able to do that this month, but I want to find ways to make it seem less daunting (although having fewer goals may have helped that…). We’ll see what I learn this month when I go sans-monthly goals.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Onward and upward

  1. You shouldn’t be surprised…but I awarded you with the One Lovely Blog and Very Inspiring Blogger Awards Congrats! (and you better come to my party!)

    http://www.themodernparsonage.com/?p=1803

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

