New favorite

Have I been on a cooking roll or what?!

My chicken orzo leftovers were a little lackluster, and I wasn’t quite sure if I had the ambition to try a third new recipe this week. I’m glad I did, though, because I haven’t been this excited about a recipe since I declared the Mediterranean Chickpea Salad my go-to summer dish! A quinoa salad with black beans just took over that spot.

Surprisingly I made next to no modifications to the recipe. (I know, I’m shocked, too! I’m chalking it up to PowerPump followed by a zumba class right after work – all of which wiped me out). The only thing I really changed was the addition of two items – corn (because I almost always associate black beans with corn and it wasn’t until after I opened the can that I saw it wasn’t even an ingredient) and mango (I couldn’t help myself!). I also didn’t mix in the tomatoes. Since that tends to be what makes my leftovers soggy and not as stellar, I figured I’d just throw them in as needed right before I eat the salad so it stays fresh.

This salad (I don’t know why it’s call that, but I’ll go with it) is fabulous. It’s so packed full of the flavors I love – lime, avocado, cilantro, mango. Could I really go wrong? (Actually, don’t answer that). This was exactly what I needed after a long but successful, productive day.

I’ve even got a new idea for a salad. I tried the mango salsa on my salad for lunch Monday, and something just seemed off with the combination. I’m thinking if I pair the salsa with the lime dressing from this recipe, though, it will bring it all together. I’m attempting it tomorrow, so fingers crossed it’s a success.

I should also confess that I tried this sugar cookie in a cup recipe tonight. For only five ingredients (alas, I didn’t have sprinkles…) and the fact that it only takes about 3 minutes to make? Sold! It actually tastes pretty dang good too, even though I’m not much of a sugar cookie fan. That’s probably for the best, or I’d really be in trouble now that I’ve got this recipe.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

