Making my Monday

Anticipating a case of the Mondays, as they say, I wanted to be proactive in making sure my week started off on the right foot. I decided to rise and shine with the birds, setting my alarm 30 minutes earlier so I could have time for coffee and homemade (not by me, mind you) pumpkin bread while reading The Fire Starter Sessions (I promise I won’t give updates for every “a-ha!” moment). I read almost a full chapter, and it was this simple statement that jumped out at me:

anything or anyone
that does not bring you alive
is too small for you
–David Whyte, poet

It definitely gave me something to reflect on this morning. I also loved the statement “Being well-rounded in highly overrated.” (I’ve likely heard it before, but there’s something about seeing it in bold, size 72 font that makes it click a little more.) It made me think about the goals I’ve been setting for myself. They’re not stressful or burdensome by any means, but a big part of it is my attempt to be more well-rounded. Why? Why not do, read, talking about and enhance what I like and am good at naturally? Things that I enjoy shouldn’t necessarily have to be scheduled in or dictated by goals. That makes it less enjoyable for me. A girl can have goals, but sometimes even those can be overrated.

Deep thoughts for a Monday morning. Naturally I loved it.

But the greatness of the morning didn’t stop there. I also splurged on a Cafe Canela from Caribou. (If you haven’t tried it and love the fall-inspired latte flavors, it’s a must have!)  They’ve had the “for limited time only” sign up for awhile advertising that particular drink, so it’s even more of a mood-booster when I discover I can still order it. Plus extra caffeine never hurt anyone…

While I was there and on an impulse, I decided to buy myself flowers. I often hear women talk about doing that but I never understood the appeal. Now that I’ve got a gorgeous bouquet of flowers on my desk at work just because for the rest of the week, I get it. Instant pick-me-up. And why not celebrate you? Why do I have to wait for my birthday, holiday or celebration to have flowers around? They look pretty, smell fantastic, and I was complimented at work for buying them just for myself. I’d definitely recommend flowers (or any other gift that strikes your fancy) to brighten your day.

The best thing is my efforts paid off. I easily dove into work, I’ve been peppy all morning (which could have something to do with the large amounts of caffeine I had…) and I’m energized enough to keep hammering stuff out this afternoon. Who knew Mondays (mornings, no less!) could be this pleasant?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

