Notes on happiness

Once in awhile when I’m in a slump (or just need something interesting to read and/or blog about…) I frequent the interviews that Gretchen Rubin posts on her website. What I really love is that it always seems to give me more insight to what I hold to be true about my own happiness and outlook on life. Since I don’t have any great crafts or projects to post yet, I thought I’d share the lessons I learned today:

  • “Happiness without good work ethic is pretty impossible.” This actually made me feel better about my own path to happiness. For some people, particularly when they’re younger, happiness tends to be equated with partying or leisure, and that doesn’t always have to be the case. Given I’m content as can be when I’m organizing or on a roll with a project, I’m glad someone promotes that work ethic plays into happiness.
  • “At some point in the day you have to say, ‘No more work.'” While I appreciate good work ethic, I also need to know when to shut it off. It’s something I’m trying to get better at because, let’s face it, no one wants to or should be productive all the time. So last night when I finally got back to my apartment, I ignored my home organization projects to put in a movie. And it was fabulous.
  • “The less money matters to you, the more careful you need to be with it.” As I’ve been tackling my own personal budget, it seems no truer words were spoken. Making money has never been a major goal of mine (with my heart set on a career in nonprofits/public health, how can it be?), but like this young’en (seriously, how young is he?!) mentioned, if you don’t like thinking about money and aren’t paying attention to it, someday it could be all that you think about. Let’s try to avoid that, shall we?
  • “I am not Type A, but AAA.” Need I say more? If I’m not a AAA-level, then I’m definitely at AA-level in my Type A personality. I particularly loved how she expanded on it, though, noting that “overdoing leaves insufficient time for savoring.” I think I’m running into that a little with my June goals, which is why the next title caught my eye…
  • “Happiness shouldn’t be associated with guilt.” (The interview was also really entertaining – like laugh out loud entertaining for me). I don’t know why or how, but I’m really bad with guilt – both feeling it and giving it out. I think instead of feeling guilty for not accomplishing goals that I think will enhance my happiness/life, I need to cut myself some slack. The world will not end if I drink pop twice this week or only log 12 miles instead of 14 (although no worries yet – I’m still on track to accomplish all my goals this week!) It did get me to ponder an interesting question, though: does the happiness I feel in accomplish a goal counteract the frustration I had in getting to it? Who knows.

The culmination of my interview search came from this man. I love just about every single one of his answers (although you’d have to replace cat with dog). I’m also intrigued by his Six-Word Memoir project. Given I’m not one to be brief, I think I’ve got a new challenge on the horizon…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

