Week 1 done

What a week.

It probably shouldn’t come as a surprise, but my goals for June were a little ambitious. Normally I think I’d be okay, but because I’ve been a one-track mind with organizing my apartment, it’s been a struggle to make sure I’m getting everything in this week. Thankfully I’ve already avoided pop all week (today’s my splurge day!) and my new activities included two wall art crafts and tomorrow’s Fiddler on the Roof performance at the barn theater. Success!

In part because of my home decor ventures, spending time alone hasn’t been difficult at all, although in some ways I feel like I’m cheating. But when I think about it, the whole purpose in having that alone time is to re-group, and that’s what organizing tends to do for me. I’ll feel much more centered (and ideally more energized to keep up with these goals) plus have a relaxing home. Double win if you ask me.

Tomorrow I’ll be wrapping up my two final goals of logging 14 miles (1.1 left to go this week) and reading my minimum of 50 pages (literally 2 pages away). Those are probably what I struggled with the most, in part because I have to be a lot more deliberate in planning these activities. I was super dedicated this week and got up early two mornings to get in extra miles with walks and to read, but I’m not sure that I’ll have that same ambition during week 4. My only concern is that these two activities, which I normally love, could become a chore with my goals. Something for me to keep in mind I guess.

I’m still working on the monthly budget, and let’s just say I’m thankful I gave myself the whole month. Every time I open up the Excel document, I get a little more overwhelmed. It helps that some of my spending is relatively fixed or consistent, but it’s hard to know how much is realistic to put toward groceries or social activities each month. I guess that’s the whole purpose of budgeting, though…

Phew. That was exhausting just to write about. Let’s hope these goals enhance my life like they were intended to do.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

