Impatience is a virtue

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – my hot glue gun is one of the most useful crafting tools I own (and props to my mom for getting me one!).

To backtrack, this week I’ve been a one-track mind. For a change of scenery, I’ve decided to make my old roommate’s room my bedroom. I’m going all out and steam cleaning my carpets, so the big switch is on hold until the weekend when the carpets are all clean. The problem is, I’m impatient and seem to have a dozen different ideas to make it more spacious, uncluttered and relaxing (lofty goals, right?).

The last couple weeks I’ve been eying crafty bulletin boards. Not only will it add a splash of color to my room (which is necessary since I’ve got white walls and cream carpet), but a lot of the “clutter” in my room right now seems to be photos and mementos that are scattered throughout my room. This should be a good way to bring them all together in a clean and simple way.

And surprisingly, it was an easy endeavor. The only real hard part was picking out the fabric, but in some ways I cheated since I ended up purchasing fabrics to make one a bulletin board and the other a photo board. No sense in hunting down a cute board I’d hand over $25 for when I can just make my own (at least that’s how I’m justifying it…).

I started with simple supplies:

Twenty minutes later (literally), I had my photo board.

I still have to add the lace and probably buttons of some type to hold photos in place, but so far so good. I’ve actually got enough fabric left (since when I purchased both I wasn’t sure which would be the big bulletin board) that I’m toying with the idea of creating another piece of wall art to add more continuity. We’ll see what inspiration strikes in the coming days.

And to prove just how impatient I am, my bulletin board is already hanging up in the room. (This one took a little longer and I didn’t have the before and after shots, but it was still relatively easy to put together.) The orange and green do seem bold, but I figure photos and what not will cover most of it. Plus it matches the large print I have above my bed that the middle sister created. It’s definitely not my typical color scheme, but it will certainly brighten the room up.

I think crafting the two boards just made me even more impatient. Is it the weekend yet?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

3 responses to “Impatience is a virtue

  1. I seriously gasped when I saw this orange fabric. LOVE IT!
    Beth

  2. thebeadden

    Great project! I couldn’t live without my glue gun either!

  3. I LOVE to make these . . . and I love the colors you chose! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

