June goals

I got out of the habit of setting up goals for each month way back when, in part because I’d set up my monthly action plans jar as a new year’s resolution. While I love it and still follow it, I was also re-inspired looking back at my initial posts and figured it was about time I incorporated other goals to keep enhancing my life.

As an overall goal for the month, I’ve decided to set up a monthly budget. Either out of pure luck or naïvety, I’ve never had to work off a personal budget. I always have a general sense of where my account balances are so I can plan accordingly. Now that I’m living on my own and have some car issues that need fixing (and not to mention the fact that I’d like to take an actual vacation next year…), it’s time to get serious about my finances.

In addition to that, I’ve taken my monthly goals a step further and set up weekly goals. (I realize it sounds intense, but I’ve found it’s the only way I really stay accountable and on top of my goals). So, each week in June I will…

Read at least 50 pages. It may not sound like a lot at all, but it’s actually appalling how little I read during the week. I think a lot of it has to do with my environment. When I’m at home I’m easily distracted – I’ll think of a blog post or start organizing my desk or closet. While I love reading, it always feels like I should be doing something better with my time when I’ve got free time. I’m hoping that with my spare room as an office I can create a reading nook and actually make a dent on my growing pile of books to be read.

Spend one afternoon or evening alone. While I was home, I re-realized that I always surround myself with people. I love sharing an office with Lindsay, and if I’m not at the gym, I generally try to find someone to hang out with during my evening and weekend hours. Rarely am I alone. Although I prefer it that way, I also know that I need my alone time just to de-compress and feel more grounded. To make sure I follow through on this goal, I started a list of things I can accomplish during my “me” time this month so that I’m not tempted to make other plans. (That probably sounds a little sad, but I need to start somewhere).

Only drink pop (or soda, if that’s your word of choice) once. I switched up my new year’s resolution this year to where I didn’t have to log an extra mile for every 12 ounces of soda I drank. As a former Diet Coke junkie, probably not my brightest idea. Especially during the spring and summer when coffee doesn’t really quench my thirst, I reach for Diet Coke a little too often. It’s time to scale back on that. (Plus it saves money!)

Try something new. Whether it’s a class at the gym, a unique social activity or craft/project, I need to start shaking things up. My life shouldn’t be this routine at my age.

Log 14 miles per week. It sounds weird (and I’m realizing just how much my Type A/OCD personality shows through in this post…) but I’m diligent about logging the number of miles I workout. I normally average about 50 miles each month (counting 2 for zumba and cutting my bike miles in half  so it doesn’t substantially skew my numbers). Since I decided not to do Juneathon, I wanted to make it a goal to beat my current best mileage of 53 (reached in May, but it took a toll on my knees, which is why I figured Juneathon wouldn’t be a stellar idea). We’ll see if I feel accomplished or angry by the end of each week…

June will definitely be a busy month, but I’m feeling surprisingly excited great about incorporating other goals and priorities into my month. My life’s been so hectic yet routine these last couple of months that it will be a much-needed shift. Plus it should give me more content for my blog, which is never a bad thing!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

