Big birthday shout-out

“It’s hard to be responsible, adult and sensible all the time. How good it is to have a sister whose heart is as young as your own.” Pam Brown.

It’s the little sister’s birthday!

And it’s not just any birthday. Today she turns 21!

As with the middle sister, we weren’t close growing up. Once we clicked, though, she became my go-to for life chats and the perfect counterpart to my other sister. While the middle tells it like it is, the little listens, over-analyzes and gives me half a dozen ways to look at a situation. (It’s not just her height that make people assume she’s the oldest – she’s mature beyond her years. It actually feels like she should already be 21). And when none of that seems to work, she resorts to humor. Win.

We jokingly share joint custody of our golden retriever, a love for Conan O’Brien and the automatically generated “most played” playlists on our iPods are eerily similar. Not only that, but this lady (pardon my French) makes shit happen. At times it’s been tough having her in Massachusetts for school, but I kid you not, she’s probably accomplished more in her 21 years than I have in my 26. All the more reason for me to brag about her.

Happy birthday, T!

To have a loving relationship with a sister is not simply to have a buddy or a confident; it is to have a soul mate for life.” Victoria Secunda

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

