Gifts galore

Now that gifts have been given to the recipients, I can finally blog about my crafting ventures this month!

May is always a tough month for gifts – I’ve got two family birthdays, mother’s day, and my parents anniversary. Especially since I knew I was going home at the end of the month, I wanted to do something unique for an anniversary gift (31 years on Wednesday!) When I spotted this on pinterest months ago, I knew I had a winner. (I really love the where they met since they were neighbors. Too cute!)

Finding the frames and maps to make it, though, was a bit of a struggle. The atlas I ordered didn’t have street views of cities in South Dakota. Then it dawned on me — I could make an image from a googlemap and have it printed as a photo. It was a long shot, but when I picked up the prints a few weeks ago, I was pleasantly surprised (actually, I may have even let out an “eeh!” in just feet away from the photo counter because I was so excited it turned out…). While it wasn’t quite as authentic, it got the job done.

I do wish the matte area wasn’t frosted since it makes the text harder to see, and it would have been cool to have hearts like the pinterest example, but I think this looks a bit more modern.

And that wasn’t all. I’d spotted an awesome matted frame on pinterest just a couple weeks ago, which was actually an etsy product. For$40 though? No thanks. I made it a mission to craft my own, and it’s not bad if I do say so myself! My parents love  “The Luckiest” by Ben Folds, so it was a perfect fit. And are they not adorable?

My creativity also came in handy for a graduation gift. I made a shadow box back in December for my mom’s Christmas present, but this one went much more smoothly (although perhaps because I didn’t use sand on this one…). This frame came equipped with velcro, which not only made it A LOT easier to work with, but it also makes the items more interchangeable (and given I’ve been friends with him for eight years, there are lots of mementos that could go into the frame).

If you can’t tell, I go the sentimental route when it comes to gifts. The only bad thing about giving creative gifts is I wish I could have one for myself, too! (Although I’m already brainstorming what maps I could create to perhaps put in my spare bedroom. But I’ll leave that for June. May was a major success!)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

4 responses to “Gifts galore

  1. mlrydell

    Is that a Volante key?!

    • dakotalizzie

      haha. It is! I found it a couple months ago when I was going through my college box. He was surprised by it, too. 😛

  2. Mom

    Thanks for the frames. I Love them!

  3. Pingback: A crafty christmas |

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

