Road map?

I realize I’m super behind in posting. Hell, I’m even super behind in reading other blogs. When I finally caught up and read this post, though, it spurred some reflections potentially worth posting.

I’m approaching the one-year mark of my job, and while it’s exciting, it’s also prompting some freak-out moments. Two years ago right before I graduated* (asterisk added by the fam since I was sticking around another year for a second degree), my old roommate point-blank said, “We have to stop pretending like we aren’t adults.”

Sadly, the statement is just as real today as it was two years ago. Sometimes it just doesn’t seem possible that I’ve been in the elusive “real world” for a year now. I’m closer to 30 than 20, and just last month I signed on for another year at my apartment (this time solo, which prompted another freak-out moment when I saw my roommate packing up her stuff yesterday afternoon). Is this what I wanted for my life? Where do I see my life going?

Like the post that I linked mentioned, the world is my oyster. I’m young, healthy and single, but often it feels like my life is already settled and routine (hence the happiness projects, monthly goals, etc.) I’m happy with where I’m at in life right now, but how long will that last before I want something more or different?

I think what’s difficult is that now my long-term life goals aren’t the things I can work toward easily anymore (which is difficult to fathom as a type-A planner…). I want to be geographically near my family, but how do I make that happen when we’re all spread out? I want to have my own dog (or two…). I want to travel (ideally outside of my Missouri and South Dakota trips). I want to be married someday. I want  to have a house with a walls I can paint when I’m inspired, a wrap-around porch, lots of natural light and even more bookshelf space.

How do I make those things happen naturally at this juncture in my life?

Like always, I seem to have more questions than answers. And lately, I just can’t seem to shake the “what’s next??” question. I feel better knowing I’m not the only one facing these questions, and thankfully I’ve got people in my life who love life chats so that maybe someday, I’ll actually figure it out. If only the Type-A side of my brain would be okay with that…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

