Gettin’ my groove back

To say I’ve been scatter-brained and all over the board since I got back from Chicago is an understatement. I’ve been kicking it into high gear at work, but as far as the other areas of my life are concerned, I just couldn’t seem to get back into a groove. Until today, that is. (Watch me jinx it…)

It started this morning when I did something out of the ordinary for me: I wore a dress. It may not seem like a big deal, but for a girl who doesn’t ever wear them (heck, I didn’t even have one in my closet up until about a month ago), it’s pretty big. I can’t say I’m sold on them, but it was something different and the reactions from my co-workers definitely made my day.

Then this evening I went to not one, not two, but three classes at the gym. Gutsy, right? Or perhaps unintentional stupidity.

Originally a friend and I were going to do kickboxing at 5:30 (I’d been meaning to go since that was offered as a replacement one Friday night a month or so ago…) and then if we were feeling up to it, we’d do our normal zumba class at 7:00. Little did we know there was a class in between the two that draws in a lot of people either post-kickboxing or pre-zumba. Two ladies from our kickboxing class convinced us to give Power Pump a try and against our better judgement, we did. (Thankfully it wasn’t as scary as the name made it sound!) I think a little over halfway through zumba we were running on empty, but we were so close to the end we couldn’t not stick it out.

Leaving the gym I was dead tired and my mind was completely blank. I probably couldn’t have told you what day it was or what I had for lunch, much less anything remotely coherent or intelligent. And you know what? It was incredible.

I honestly think that’s why I’m hooked on zumba. It’s fun and I get a great workout, but it’s also because 98% of the time, my mind is clear. When I’m on the elliptical or treadmill, I’m still thinking about a million different things and don’t “leave my problems at the door,” as they say. With zumba I get lost in the music and the dancing, and I kid you not, I don’t have a care in the world. It rarely fails to improve my mood (although it apparently gives me terrible kickboxing form).

What was also great tonight is that after all that working out, the only thing my body wanted was a shower and pineapple. I’ve been struggling to get back into healthy eating after all my indulging last week, but I think tonight’s sweat session did the trick. It finally feels like physically and mentally, I’m back on track. But I guess I’ll have to see if I’m feeling this zen when I try to get out of bed tomorrow morning…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Gettin’ my groove back

  1. mlrydell

    I LOVED Power Pump in Ames! It is the class I miss the most. The first day we went, we used too much weight and I could not walk the next day from all of the squats and lunges! It got me into such great shape and was so fun. Good work!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

