Healthy alternative

Michelle over at Earning Your Apron read my mind this week. For the last few days I’ve been craving Chinese food (actually I’ve been craving Mediterranean or Greek food, but since Chinese is easier to get — hello HyChi! — I’ve had my heart set on that). Given that I indulged in amazing deep dish, sushi and a to-die for pasta dish last week in Chicago, though, I’ve been avoiding that temptation. (As I side note, I may have to steal her Operation Eat Healthy! It sounds catchy and less depressing.)

Tonight I decided to try chicken teriyaki with broccoli. Normally I’m really nervous making recipes like this, since I absolutely love these dishes at restaurants but can never manage to recreate anything close to it on my own. I was quite surprised with how well this recipe turned out, though, and I’m wondering if it has something to do with the chicken broth. It’s not something I’d normally add to a dish like this, but somehow all the flavors worked really well together.

As always, I had to change the recipe just a bit. I didn’t have scallions but I did throw in shallots (be impressed – onions are slowly making their way into my palate). I’ve also been on a cooked carrot kick and threw those in as well.

I really wish I would have had bamboo shoots and water chestnuts, but no such luck. I also didn’t have my staple mushrooms or kalamata olives (not that olives would have gone well in this), in part because I used them up with I made my favorite meal two nights ago — without using a recipe! Apparently it’s the little things that make me happy.

Instead of pairing the chicken with pasta like I did with the lemon chicken and broccoli dish, I stuck with brown rice. While the flavors were still great, next time I’m half tempted to put a few drops of teriyaki sauce into the rice as it’s cooking. It may put a little more punch into it, but perhaps not.

It didn’t fully satisfy my Chinese/Mediterranean/Greek food craving, but it came pretty darn close. It’s a dish I’d definitely make again. Another selling point? It only took me 28 minutes to whip up (which may have been less had I remembered to start the rice earlier…) Not bad at all!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “Healthy alternative

  1. mlrydell

    Love your blog Liz! I’m going to have to go back in your archives and see if I can steal a recipe for tonight 🙂

  2. dakotalizzie

    Aww – thanks, lady! Your blog is always one of my first go-tos when I’m trying to find new recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

