Lessons

I came across this article yesterday and fell in love with the idea. Plus some of her lessons are spot on, at least from my perspective. I’m a firm believer that google can answer anything (that’s where I learn half of my computer skills) and that you should never stop learning or trying to be a better person.

Since I read her list of life lessons I’ve been pondering what I’ve learned in my 26+ years and hold to be true in my own life. (I was almost hoping I could generate a list of 26 or even 10, but it’s already been long enough since my last post and you know I’d over-analyze and need to perfect my list. Ergo, there is no list. At least not yet.)

Like the woman who wrote the list I linked, though, my list would by no means be original thoughts or revelations. Maybe that’s why I like quotes so much. I can’t always pinpoint what I’ve learned from good and bad experiences, much less condense them in a profound sentence or two. But other people can. And it’s probably the quotes that resonate with me that point to what I value or learned the hard way.

One thing I have discovered and believe with every fiber of my being is the cliché (which I generally hate) that everything happens for a reason (and I can’t place he movie or show, but there’s also a line about clichés being clichés because they’re true). More eloquently, though, I’d say this would be at the top of my (non-existent) list:

“You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.” Steve Jobs

I couldn’t have said it better myself. It’s been so fascinating, too, because the older I get, the more I see other dots connecting. What I thought were unimportant decisions in high school and college ultimately led me to where I am today. And you absolutely have to trust in something. While I’m an avid list-maker, when it comes to life decisions I just know. I’ve never needed to make a pro-con list or even gather up all the facts. It’s actually when I try to rationalize something that I know it’s not the right choice for me. Who knew?

So that’s what I’ve learned to be true about my own life. Anyone else have good life lessons or wisdom?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

