Self reflection

I should probably preface this rambling post with the fact that there’s no rhyme or reason to it. And surprisingly I didn’t intend to attach a goal or action plan to it (the key word being intend…).

Tonight I decided to get a jump start on my next book (I realize I’ve already started nine books, but this is a library book. That justifies it, right?) One of my good friends recommended The Lost Art of Compassion to me, and while it’s not everyone’s cup of tea (like most things I read and write about), it’s already posed some interesting questions.

What really struck me pertains to the old adage that actions speak louder than words. To be honest, I feel like lately mine aren’t matching up, but I hadn’t thought about that until I read this paragraph:

Any easy way to tell if you suffer from such an inner conflict is to see how well your daily activities match up with your beliefs. If you say that family is important but somehow don’t find much quality time with yours each week; if you say that spirituality is important but spend only a few hours a week actively engaged in spiritual practice; if you say that helping others is important but you can’t think easily of recent examples of your doing so, then there’s probably a significant gap between the beliefs you hold consciously and the unconscious ones that are running your life.

I’m definitely feeling some gaps in my own life, particularly in these last few weeks. One of my good friends joked a few years ago that right away people learn how much I love my family, that my sisters are my best friends and my dogs are adorable. Our family of five (seven if you include the dogs) is my world, and I’m lucky if I get quality time with them every few months. Hardly seems like a priority, huh? Busy schedules and distance definitely makes it difficult, and it also doesn’t help that none of us are really phone people.

It brought me back to my monthly goals, though. Each of the things the author mentioned are things I’m trying to address – each month I want to talk to each family member on the phone, I want to volunteer, to make time for myself and meditate. I’m on this search for happiness or purpose or whatever it is, right? I’ve set up goals and action plans based on the things that are important to me and ultimately bring me happiness. But is there still a disconnect?

I can set goals to volunteer each month and say I got into my profession/career because I want to help people, but unless I’m actually doing it, then it doesn’t mean much. And considering I cop out of finding new volunteer activities each month with the excuse that I visit my adopted grandmother weekly, it’s not sending the message that it is a priority to me.

Mostly I think this leads me to wonder what my current actions do reflect about my priorities and life. I work, cook and go to zumba. It probably shows I care about my health, but what else? Maybe that’s something I should start exploring (especially since I feel like I need a plan of action. Perhaps that in itself says something…)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

