Reading for pleasure

Apparently like father, like daughter.

I either need to carve out way more time to read or I just need to stop buying books and checking them out from the library. With the rainy weather we’ve had recently, I thought yesterday offered me the perfect opportunity to curl up on the couch with a book. The problem was – which book?

Uncharacteristically of me, I’m in the midst of ten books. That’s right — ten. I apparently didn’t take that into account when I purchased three more and checked out six from the library on Saturday (on top of the 9 books I was getting for my adopted grandmother, so I’m sure the librarian thought I was nuts).

Anywho, once I got over feeling overwhelmed by the number of books I have yet to finish, I decided to finish MWF seeking BFF (yes, the one I started almost two months ago….). Her writing style and the goals she writes about are similar to The Happiness Project, and her experiences and overall attitude resonated with me even more than I thought it would. Plus it was a perfect pick-me-up for a rainy weekend. I came away with lots of ideas, like trying a cooking class or writing group.

I’ve decided to make this summer one for the books (bold declaration, I know, particularly considering it’s only the middle of April). I’ll have about a year under my belt for my job and I’ll be wrapping up the side job, too (can I get a woot woot?!) so I figure it’s the perfect opportunity to get outside my comfort zone and have, you know, a life. It’s time to focus on my friendships, build new ones and have some new experiences. (I realize I’ve been saying this for almost a year now, but you’ll just have to bear with me. I’ll get there eventually. Or at least I hope I will.)

One of the first orders of business may be finding a book club to join. Maybe then I’d get my book buying and reading habits more under control…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

