Cooking with friends

I’m starting to sense a pattern with the types of food I cook. It usually involves chicken and a side dish that has lots of vegetables, colors and a base of pasta or quinoa. Maybe that’s a sign I should start branching out more…

It’s been interesting, though, to see how my socializing has changed as a result of cooking. Instead of going out for dinner, I’m finding it’s more fun to pick out recipes and make an evening of it. Thursday night I got to make dinner with Miss Lindsay while we de-cluttered her closets, and Friday night I got to make feta chicken bake and greek pasta salad before watching The Good, The Bad and The Ugly with a friend. (I’d never seen the movie before, along with a long list of other classic movies. It’s actually embarrassing how many classic movies I haven’t seen, particularly when you consider I’ve probably seen every romantic comedy under the sun, but I’m working on it. One goal at a time.)

But back to the recipes. Friday’s meal turned out to be a great summer dish, and I actually feel like the salad could be something a bit more original (and healthy) to bring to BBQs and potlucks, as opposed to the pasta salads coated with mayo. Be forewarned, though: the pasta salad isn’t particularly good as leftovers. I think it’s in part because of the tomatoes, but it could be a combination of things.

Much to my surprise, I ate the red peppers with the chicken and the onions in the pasta salad. I don’t know if my taste buds are changing or what the deal is, but since those tend to be staple ingredients in most recipes, I’m glad I’m getting used to them.  And it’s potentially good to know now that I’m on a mission is to get out of my chicken and side dish rut…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

