Home is where the heart is

This weekend wasn’t at all good for my physical health (whoops!), but I will say it did wonders for my emotional wellness.

It may sound a little odd, but even just driving to South Dakota made me feel more relaxed. I enjoy traveling for work, but there’s something about getting in my own car (instead of a rental) and instinctively knowing how to get to my destination. I didn’t need mapquest directions or my GPS or a list of confirmation numbers to make sure my travels go without a hitch.

Plus (and I know this sounds ever crazier) but I absolutely love it when I finally reach the plains. It literally feels like I can breathe again. You can see for miles any which way you look and the sights are so familiar for me. Don’t get me wrong – I love the trees and hills in Missouri, especially in the spring and fall. But sometimes it almost feels a little claustrophobic. I love being back in the wide open spaces where everything just seems so peaceful.

While I was at home, I also got to accomplish everything on my to-do list — eating my dad’s grilled food, having one of my mom’s famous daiquiris, life chat with the middle, family skype date with the little, reading (and napping…) on the deck, and two car rides and two long walks on the trail with the dogs. I also made sure to get in lots of snuggle time with the golden. (You’ll have to excuse the poor photo quality. My blackberry sucks at taking photos).

I’m telling you – there’s nothing like a weekend home to clear your head. It’s going to be hard to get back into the grind, but at least I had a few days where I didn’t have a care in the world except for spending time with the fam. If only I could have more weekends like that…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

