Major success

I think I just found my perfect go-to summer dish. I still can’t get over how much I loved it.

To be honest, I kind of cheated in that I made the same chicken recipe I did last week since I already had the ingredients on hand. This time around I did throw in the sun-dried tomatoes as I was sautéing the mushrooms, and I think it make it even better. (Plus I managed to cook the chicken without cutting it half a dozen ways to make sure it was fully cooked. Amazing what pounding the chicken can do….) And we all know I love broccoli, so there’s no surprise there.

So what am I so blown away by? The Mediterranean chickpea salad. Holy. Cow.

For some reason I’ve been craving beans lately. Weird, right? (Specifically I’ve been craving refried beans, but since I don’t even really like them I wasn’t about to go out of my way to buy a can or find something to make with it, but that’s neither here nor there.) I wanted to find something I could have as a side dish that wasn’t over-powering, especially since I’m not a huge fan of beans on their own.

And of course it wouldn’t be my dish if I didn’t make my own modifications… I don’t feel like chickpeas have a ton of flavor, so I also added a cup of a bean trio (red, kidney and black beans, I think). I also added fresh tomatoes, in part because once again I was nervous about sun-dried tomatoes. Then I threw some of the leftover sautéed mushrooms.

You know what else? I actually put in the onions. You have no idea how huge that is for me. I raise a lot of eyebrows when I tell people I don’t like onions or peppers. I’m not terrible about it in that I refuse to eat anything that has them in it, but I definitely don’t make an effort to put them in when I’m cooking for just myself. For whatever reason I thought I’d give it a try and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed them. Who knew?

It ended up being a lot of food, but oh my goodness was it amazing! Hopefully the leftovers are equally amazing. I’m finding that one of my frustrations with chickpea salads is that they’re great when I first make them, but the leftovers are just average. We’ll find out tomorrow if this recipe rocks my world again.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Major success

  1. Nice! I have discovered that even though I’m still not a huge fan of onions, I put them in a lot of my recipes and they add flavor. It’s not necessarily onion flavor either. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

