A splendid Saturday indeed

I think I took full advantage of a beautiful Saturday.

It all started with planting a vegetable garden with Miss Lindsay. We also planted strawberries, which is probably what I’m most excited about. I think it’s safe to say I probably don’t have a green thumb, but it was so much fun!

We also decided to try a new recipe for lunch – chicken parmigiana and garlic bread.  I’ve never made it quite like this (melting the butter and mixing in the spices before putting it on the bread) but it turned out to be quite flavorful. And it was the perfect reward to our gardening efforts.

After lunch I got to spend even more time outside with a hike at Rock Bridge State Park. It’s not as pretty without leaves on the trees, but it was still good to get out there and enjoy the beautiful weather (not to mention the fact that it meant I didn’t have to be inside a stuffy gym for my workout).

And as if that weren’t enough, I also spent a couple hours chatting with a friend at the winery (so relaxing!) and then got to enjoy Mediterranean food, which was fabulous. It’s exactly how beautiful Saturdays should be spent, although I have to confess it’s making it a bit hard to focus today to get my other responsibilities.

I’m trying to look at the bright side, though — I got to enjoy a gorgeous day and next weekend I get to be with the fam. I think that means I can suck it up and be productive for the next five days.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

