Winner winner chicken dinner

I thought I’d get a jump-start on one of my April goals of focusing on my physical health, so last night I made a balsamic chicken and mushroom recipe. It reminded me a bit of the lime chicken recipe I fell in love with a few months ago but with a different tangy flavor.

It’s definitely something I’ll be cooking again, although I’m a little frustrated that I have yet to master the art of making chicken on the stove that turns out presentable.  Recipes will generally say to cook the chicken anywhere from three to seven minutes on each side, and while it looks great on the outside, the inside is still pink. As a result, I end up butchering the chicken breast to make sure it’s fully cooked and then it just looks like a mess:

I guess I shouldn’t complain too much if it tastes great. I also had some sun-dried tomatoes on the side. The recipe listed it as an ingredient that could be added, but I wasn’t sold on it enough to actually incorporate it completely into the dish. I’ll have to try it next time since it actually turned out to be another great flavor on top of the balsamic marinade.

With strong flavors, I wanted to have relatively subdued (and healthy) side dishes. I kept with the balsamic flavor and made a dressing for a side salad. My newest obsession is throwing blueberries on salads. I don’t know what it is, but I’m absolutely crazy about it. My other obsession lately is broccoli, which tends to be my go-to side anyway (compliments of the middle sister) . Throw a little olive oil and/or lemon juice on it along with garlic (and other spices if I’m feeling up to it) before popping it in the oven and it’s perfect.

I’m thinking I should get extra points for presentation on this meal. Just look at all the colors! And the best part? It only took me 24 minutes to make. This will definitely be a staple dish for me this spring/summer.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Winner winner chicken dinner

  1. Joanne Ivey

    Could this be Julia Chiles?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

