Enjoying life

Miss Maren linked an article today that I think was exactly what I needed to read. Not all of it applies to me, but it reminded me of why I should be happy with where I’m at in my life.

All too often I feel like I’m stuck in a rut. Between traveling, zumba and work, my life is pretty routine. (Hence my focus on the happiness project and bringing new goals into my life.) To some degree I’m a creature of habit, but I always assumed that my life would be routine when I finally settled down with a cute house, a dog (or two…) and a husband. Being that none of those are the case yet (although I basically treat Lindsay’s dog like she’s my own), I’m thinking it’s time to shake my life up a bit.

This is what your twenties are for — to feel and see as much as you can, to take advantage of not being tied down to anything and anyone and to go balls to the wall with everything that you do. You’re a raw nerve. You hate getting upset over little things, about being constantly unraveled by ignored text messages, parents, grades, and friends, but you have to remember something: you don’t know yourself entirely yet.

I’m thinking some of my goals for April should include trying new things just to spice up my life. Whether it’s a new workout class or a new hobby or different social activities, I want to experience as much as I can. You’re only young once, right? And the way I see it, I’ve only got four more years of being in my 20s (I won’t lie – that statement just about made me gag). I think I’ve got a pretty good sense of who I am, but why not see what else the world has to offer? Maybe I’ll discover a new passion or hobby. I won’t know until I try.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

