Weary traveler

My month of traveling wrapped up today, and thank goodness I’ve been focusing on my emotional wellness! There’s no doubt that it helped counter some of the effects of traveling.

This week it’s like the universe was trying to tell me that I’d been traveling too much. Not only has my work credit card maxed out, but the guy at the front desk of the hotel where my boss and I stayed on Monday night knew my name. Both rooms were under my boss’s name, and he still knew mine. A bit much, right? (And for those wondering, he’s married and is social with everyone, so it doesn’t make for a cute love story.)

Anywho, with another month wrapping up I wanted to start thinking about my goals for April. I’ll probably continue focusing on my emotional wellness since it’s been so positive, but I also need to make my physical health a priority. The eating out and sporadic physical activity from traveling took a toll on my body. I don’t feel like I’m at my peak and I want my natural energy back, so that’s where my focus needs to be.

And as much as it pains me to say, I think I need to stray a bit from my zumba commitment (gasp and tear!). I was looking at my workout log for the month, and of the 18 days I worked out, 12 were zumba classes (and it would have been 13 had it not been for the substitute kickboxing class last Friday…). It’s certainly not a bad thing since I love it, but my body could probably use a bit more variety. (I’m also happy to report that I did go to zumba this week! Although I’m convinced it was more of a general aerobics class since she had us doing crunches and crazy stretches. Still a good workout nonetheless).

I’m not quite sure what my April goals fully entail, but at least the wheels are turning. All I really know is that I fully intend on enjoying my time at home and in Columbia. Thankfully (at least as of now) I only travel for work once in April so I’ll definitely get a chance to regroup. Although there is one more trip I have to take — next weekend I head up to South Dakota  to see the fam and puppies. Now that’s some traveling I can get excited about!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

