Wild Friday night

Let me tell you, I had some wild and crazy plans for my Friday night.

It started with zumba. Well, it was supposed to start with zumba. There’s a Friday evening beginner’s zumba class at my gym that I recently started going to just for the heck of it. The regular instructor for that (who isn’t my normal one) is out for two weeks, so today they had a substitute kickboxing class.

It’s probably good I didn’t know beforehand that it wasn’t going to be zumba or I probably wouldn’t have gone. Ten minutes into the class she had us get down on the mats for pushups, saying “what kind of aerobics class doesn’t have pushups??” I kid you not when I say half the class (which was only about 20 people) said zumba. There’s a reason I love those ladies (and zumba)!

It actually turned out to be a really great class, though. My friend and I are planning to work it into our zumba and elliptical rotation… well, once my thighs stop burning anyway.

To refuel after a new workout, I thought I’d whip up a new recipe. It’s not bad looking for my first calzone!

I’m starting to realize more and more that I tend to use recipes as guidelines, and I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not. I started with this Ham and Cheese calzone recipe. I couldn’t find frozen bread dough at the grocery store tonight, so I instead just bought packaged pizza dough to mix. (And I’m pretty sure it wasn’t 1 pound of dough like the recipe calls for, since I had way too much of the sauce.) I also didn’t really want Swiss cheese, so I opted for an Italian blend and also some Colby Jack since I already had those on hand.

And then I naturally made my own modifications. I threw in some spinach since I was trying to use up the last of mine and also added pineapples (love!). It definitely added to the flavor and I almost wish I would have had more ingredients to throw in, like tomatoes and mushrooms. Still delicious!

I’m already trying to conjure up other ingredients I could throw into future calzones. It seriously took 40 minutes in total to make and bake. Not bad at all.

Now to proceed with my chick flick, a glass of wine and my fourth load of laundry. Like I said, wild and crazy Friday night plans. But after a busy week and traveling, it’s made me one happy gal.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Wild Friday night

  1. I loved my kickboxing class! Of course, that was years ago before I had Eli and now the place I went is closed. I should find a new one. I hope you keep going. The sore muscles eventually go away, but the workout always feels great.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

