Self love

Partly because of my focus on emotional wellness this month, I did something a little unique last night. Actually, it’s rather weird and I almost didn’t post about it, but I figured a little disclosure never hurt anyone.

Miss Lindsay is focusing on building her relationships this month, and part of that included writing letters to old friends and people who inspired her. It’s such an awesome gesture, and how could you not feel like a hundred bucks after getting kind words out of the blue like that?

So last night I sat down and wrote a letter to myself.

Seems weird, right? But it surprisingly wasn’t as hard as I thought. It was almost like the free-flow journaling I did last week. Once I started, it was easy to keep going. And I can’t tell you how refreshing it was to only reflect on the positives.  I’m all about improving on my weaknesses and being a more well-rounded person, but it was uplifting to just take stock of the strengths and accomplishments I do have.

It also helped that I’ve been thinking a lot about progress this week (traveling alone this much makes me even more prone to deep life thoughts apparently…Scary, huh?) Right now I’m sitting in a hotel room exactly like the one I stayed in the night before my first round of site visits. Last time, though, I was a nervous wreck. I spent the entire evening holed up in my room pouring over everything. I’m pretty sure I didn’t sleep at all and I had no idea how I was going to do this consistently.

Tomorrow I’m meeting with those same agencies and I’ve barely given it a second thought tonight. I also refused to be holed up in my hotel room, so instead I caught up on work email at Panera before venturing to zumba. That’s right – I went to zumba! Talk about progress and getting outside of my comfort zone. Like writing a letter to myself, I thought it was going to be uncomfortable, but it turned out to be just what I needed (especially the killer arm workout, which I don’t always get from my regular zumba instructor).

And thankfully I’ll have this little reminder again when my letter shows up in the mail. Makes it even more weird, right? Perhaps. But you’ve probably come to expect that from me by now. (Plus I love getting snail mail and got a free stamp from the hotel manager. I just couldn’t resist!)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Self love

  1. I love LOVE this post! What a great idea – I may steal it from you. Lol you are wonderful miss Liz!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

