It’s the thought that counts

Tonight I was hoping to do something out of the ordinary for me. I’m traveling for work for the first half of the week, and out of curiosity I thought I’d see if any zumba classes were available (in part because I’ve grown so accustomed to zumba that now 30 minutes on the elliptical feels like torture. Plus the hotel I’m at tonight doesn’t have a gym. No bueno.) Sure enough, there were.

Two classes were listed for the city I’m staying at tonight – one at 6:30 and 7:30. I went back and forth too much to make it to the 6:30 class and I pushed the idea to the backburner. As 7:00 was nearing and I was still sitting at my laptop doing work in my hotel room, though, I decided enough was enough. I needed a break and thought zumba would be the trick.

Unfortunately I got to the location and saw they only had the 6:30 class. It looked like such a unique class, too! The studio was dark with blaring music and tons of flashing lights. (I know — not everyone’s cup of tea, but I thought it would shake up even my normal zumba routine, which I love. Plus a dark studio would have been perfect given I wouldn’t know anyone in the class. At least in my regular classes I stand next to the same ladies pretty consistently since we’ve learned not to step on each other toes.)

So much for getting out of my comfort zone. Instead I drowned my sorrows in Mexican food (my usual while traveling) and went back to the hotel room for more work and reading. It’s almost sad what a creature of habit I can become while traveling.

It’s the thought that counts, though, right?

On the plus side, there’s a zumba class in the city where I’m staying tomorrow. Perhaps I’ll be brave and attempt it. Or at least double check the time of the class to make it an actual option for my wild and crazy evening…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

