New twist

Since I’m not traveling at all this week for work, I thought I’d focus on my culinary skills and try some new recipes. It was until after I made the Chicken & Spinach Pasta Bake that I realized how similar it was to the sausage and spinach stuff shells I made a few weeks ago. Not that I’d complain, though. Both dishes were great, and the perk of this is the presentation didn’t matter as much.

What threw me off the most (but was I think pulled the dish together) was the chives and green onion cream cheese. I’d expect that in a spinach dip, but not necessarily a pasta bake. I also added my own little twist to the recipe with sautéed mushrooms. That and kalamata olives are my MOs when it comes to most pasta or potato dishes.

I also thought it was high time I put my blackberry ginger balsamic vinegar to use with a homemade dressing. I added a bit more flavor to the salad with homemade croutons (which I love!) and kiwi, which was a first for me. It turned out to be the perfect blend of sweet and tangy. It feels like I’m forever in search of a great salad dressing, and this did not disappoint in the least.

I don’t know if this will make it into the regular rotation of recipes I make, but I’d definitely make the dish again. Plus they made fabulous leftovers for lunch today — double perk!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “New twist

  1. I would put cream cheese in anything without a second thought….. So I think you probably made a winner!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

