How I Spent my Weekend

I won’t lie – after I made the declaration that I was throwing out the to-do lists and responsibilities for this weekend, I panicked. It was a toss-up as to whether I would feel invigorated or lost. Would I even know what to do with myself? And did it count if I still had mental to-do lists running through my head?

Thankfully I had fabulous weather and even more fabulous friends. It was actually slightly ironic that on Saturday I did end up sitting by the river. It turned out to be a perfect day for the winery.

On Saturday I didn’t do a single “productive” thing. I made myself brunch (family vacation last summer made me an expert pancake maker), read while drinking coffee and spent the day out and about with friends. Instead of working out, running errands and cleaning, I got to enjoy the winery, dinner with friends and a show for a local band.

And the best part is I didn’t feel the least bit guilty. At no point did I think about what else I should have or could have been doing or even what the next week would have in store for me.

Today I did succumb to getting a few things done – namely zumba and grocery shopping. I may have been determined to let my mind and body relax this weekend, but I wasn’t about to start the week off on a bad note by not getting at least those two things done.

Outside of that, though, I didn’t guilt myself into doing anything productive. I read, wrote, cooked, relaxed – basically everything that overcast, rainy days are intended for, and it was fabulous. I don’t know if I’m fully ready to tackle the week, but at least I feel like my weekend was actually a weekend. I need to make that happen more often!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

