Weekend Wellness

“The mark of a successful man is one that has spent an entire day on the bank of a river without feeling guilty about it.” Unknown

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read that quote and thought to myself, “Well hell, I’d feel guilty!” But this weekend I’m going to attempt to be a successful woman. Minus the bank of a river part.

My week of travels was physically and mentally exhausting. Thankfully I got to leave work early on Friday, but what did I want to do with that extra time in the afternoon? As you might expect, I had a whole list ready of things I wanted to get done now that I was back in town, with the gym being at the top of the list. Even though I was running on fumes and had absolutely no interest in stepping on the elliptical whatsoever, I couldn’t let go of the guilt.

That’s when a good friend stepped in and said “sometimes your mental health is just as important as your physical health.”  The comment also made me think back to the quote I posted from the book I read last weekend. I’ve got all these lists and things I want to get done, but I don’t stop to ask myself what’s important.

Well, I’d say it’s about time that I ask myself just that.

There are two important things I need to get done this weekend that are responsibilities – the side job and visiting my adopted grandma (which I almost hate calling a responsibility since she’s wonderful). Outside of those two things, I’ve decided to make my weekend list-and responsibility-free. If it means I take a nap instead of cleaning my room or going to the gym, or that I don’t get my laundry done or a book finished, so be it. This weekend is about ditching the lists and nagging feelings of guilt so that I can actually let my body and mind relax and regroup. This is, after all, the month that I’m focusing on emotional wellness. It’s time to start walking the walk. Or I guess in this case, spending the day on the bank of a river. Metaphorically speaking, of course.

…yeah, I definitely do need a break. That was lame, even for me.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

