Time to regroup

I’ve been terrible lately. I haven’t been blogging or crafting or cooking. I’ve been reading, but haven’t been focused enough to actually finish a book. It actually sounds even more pathetic as I’m writing it out.

Determined to reverse this trend, I did what usually works for me — I got a large mug of coffee and started making lists. First was my book list. I’ve re-evaluated my “to be read” stack next to my bed and then pulled my goodreads lists. After consulting amazon and the library catalogue, I came away with a list of books and three audiobooks to get for my upcoming travels.

Then I hit up pinterest. Last month doing a craft project was one of the first monthly goals I accomplished. This month it’s inching toward being one of the last goals I accomplished. I’ve decided tomorrow I’m going to make this bracelet and/or a simpler version of this pearl-esque bracelet. It will be done and a post will undoubtedly ensue (clearly I need some accountability).

You’d think after all that list-making I’d actually go out and do something, like at least purchase the supplies. Nope. (In part because I’m saving that for tomorrow since it’s a holiday off for work and there’s likely to be less crowds.)

Instead I spent this afternoon reading, and it was fabulous. It’s somewhat embarrassing to admit, but I’m currently immersed in MWF seeking BFF. I talked about it a few weeks ago and decided to purchase it discreetly on amazon. I’m about halfway through and I’m pretty sure I’d want her to be my BFF. I knew even just in her introduction: “In your late twenties, friend-making is not the natural process it used to be. In fact, as it turns out, I’ve completely forgotten how to do it. I’m too shy to approach a potential BFF at the local bookstore just because she too is caressing The Things They Carried.” Love!

While technically I didn’t accomplish much, I still feel much better now that I’ve got a game plan for tomorrow and some quality reading in today. And hopefully you can expect a few more updates on my end. This absence was more depressing than refreshing.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

