Tried and true

The other night when I got back home from my work travels, I wasn’t feeling up to cooking but knew it was high time. Believe it or not, there is a point where you get sick of eating out (and the more I travel, the sooner that point comes for me) so I’m always ready to be back in the kitchen (and my own bed).

Anticipating that I wasn’t going to want to make anything elaborate, I planned ahead and had everything I needed to whip up a tried and true, albeit not incredibly health, recipe. While I follow the basic Campbell’s Taco Bake recipe, I make a few of my own modifications. I throw in black beans, corn, tomatoes and black olives to give it a little more flavor and hopefully a bit more health credibility. I also use wheat tortilla, and probably should have used a few more than I did, since it looks a little more like chili than I anticipated.

Regardless of the (lack of) healthiness of the recipe, it was a fabulous way to get back to a home-cooked meal. Plus I got to unpack while it baked in the oven for 30 minutes, which was a great unintended perk of the meal.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

