Birthday girl

“She is your mirror, shining back at you with a world of possibilities.  She is your witness, who sees you at your worst and best, and loves you anyway.  She is your partner in crime, your midnight companion, someone who knows when you are smiling, even in the dark.  She is your teacher, your defense attorney, your personal press agent, even your shrink.  Some days, she’s the reason you wish you were an only child.” Barbara Alpert

Thankfully the days of wishing I was an only child are long gone. And today it’s the middle sister’s birthday, so it’s a perfect excuse to talk about her (not that I ever have a reason for talking about how much I love the sisters).

While I’ve loved being the oldest sister (as evident by the photo circa 1990), there was (quite a long) period of time when I didn’t get along with the middle and the little. Perhaps it wasn’t so much that we didn’t get along, but we weren’t tight. As my parents can probably attest, the sisters spent way more time fighting and annoying each other while we were growing up than actually getting along. And if we weren’t pushing each other’s buttons, then we just weren’t talking to one another.

Fast forward to my freshman year of undergrad and there was a shift. That’s when the sisters became more than just siblings and it’s been that way ever since. The middle and I have very different personalities. All three of us do, actually. We often wonder if we would even be friends if we weren’t sisters, but I don’t want to imagine my life without them. The middle is the rational one, the one I call when I’m having a panic attack or need perspective. She tells it like it is, whether I want to hear it or not. And she can still push my buttons, but it’s a small price to pay being her sister.

Who knew that 23 years later the middle would be one of my best friends.

Enough bragging. Anymore mentions of her on my blog and she’ll start to get a big head.

“My sister is the friend who shows me what I want from other friends. She sets the standard everybody else has to match.” Michele D’Ambrosio

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

