Food for thought

I think Branson is my favorite place to travel for work. But not for the crazy “it’s like a county Las Vegas for old people!” stereotypes and atmosphere. That’s actually kind of off-putting to me, but maybe that’s just because I’ve only been down here for work.

What I do love, though, is that I find hidden treasures each time I come. After my site visits yesterday, I explored a few of the shops on The Landing, which is an outdoor mall area with fountains and music. While it was pretty empty given that it’s the beginning of February, I still loved the atmosphere. I wandered into the Devo Olive Oil store and fell in love.

Now that I cook with olive oil much more consistently (I confessed on Bri’s blog that up until about a year or so ago, I didn’t even own olive olive – how sad!), I felt like walking into this store was like finding the holy grail. I ended up purchasing a fabulous organic Tuscan olive oil and also a blackberry ginger vinegar. It sounds a little odd, but the taste is phenomenal. I’m already looking forward to making a salad dressing with the vinegar. (And I’m thankful I’m back here in three or four weeks in the event I run out…)

After hitting up two bookstores (I am my father’s daughter…) I discovered what I thought would be a standard Mexican restaurant, since Mexican is my go-to when I travel for work. I’m not a fan of eating solo but I hate bringing it back to my hotel room and having the smell in there the rest of the night. Plus you can’t go wrong with chips and salsa, and it’s generally fast, so I don’t have to spend an hour at a sit-down restaurant twiddling my thumbs (since I refuse to mess with my phone the entire time just so I don’t look lame).

Anywho, last night I ended up having the best burrito I’ve ever eaten. And the biggest, too, although I only managed to get about halfway through it. And it’s because of that decision that I made sure to workout and keep to my February weekly goals (which is what this post was initially supposed to be about, until I got sidetracked by the food descriptions — whoops!)  While I was really tempted to skip, I remembered that this exact Wednesday was why I set up my goals the way that I did.

In a sense, I’m trying to make sure my healthy habits stick with me when I travel for work. It’s so easy to splurge on a fountain pop when I stop at gas stations (sipping on water in the car just doesn’t feel the same). It’s also easy to indulge in fabulous Mexican food, which I clearly did last night. But the thing is, it’s not a vacation, and being away from home for two days doesn’t mean I need to skimp on workouts or healthy foods.

Ergo, I worked out and purchased water from the gas station I stopped at yesterday. It’s the little things, right? (If you don’t count the awesome burrito from last night…)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Food for thought

  1. I think I know what you mean about Branson – have been there in summer with family and was pleasantly surprised by how much it had to offer…..particularly good memories of Table Rock State Park. I love the sound of that Olive Oil store – it is such fun to make random discoveries.:-)

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

