More mixed results

I feel like my cooking venture last night had the exact opposite result the last cooking venture I had with my old roommate. This time I really enjoyed the meal, but the dessert wasn’t as stellar as we’d hoped.

Last night we whipped up sausage and spinach stuffed shells. They turned out well, although not quite as pretty as the picture from the recipe website. Thankfully I decided to cook extra shells, since most of them tore or lost their structure while they were being cooked. Still, it doesn’t look half bad for my first attempt.

We paired the shells with a caesar-ish salad, making our own croutons (they’re SO good when they’re fresh out of the oven!) and dressing. Throw in kalamata olives and that’s all the flavor you need. We probably could have thrown in a fruit or more vegetables, but the meal was filling and tasty as it was, so I won’t complain.

Then came the dessert. We decided to make flaugnarde of mixed berries, even though neither of us had a clue of what flaugnarde was supposed to be. (I later looked it up and it’s supposed to be a flan-like French dessert). It was definitely simple enough to make, which was perk, but I think the overall texture of the finished product was what left me feeling lackluster about it.

I feel like I need to get my cooking stride back. Normally I don’t have this many mixed results with meals, but it could be because I’m trying a wider array of foods and recipes now. And like I said last time, you win some, you lose some. At least I’m learning what I like and what I don’t like, and if nothing else, I’m ever-so-slowly expanding my recipe book and expertise.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

