A new month

About a month ago I posted my monthly action plans, along with the cute craft I created to hold myself accountable. Since yesterday was the last day of the month, I decided to take stock of my progress. To my surprise, only one (small) clothespin remained — call the little sister. (Although in my defense, it wasn’t for lack of trying, and she can attest to that. Punk.)

Overall, I’d call that a success!  And I can honestly say it doesn’t leave me feeling negatively about my new year’s resolutions AND that I’ve been able to keep at it! Double win.

I did realize, though, that my action plans mostly focus on my mental health – making sure I take time for myself and increase my happiness. It’s been successful in that regard and it’s what I was aiming for, but I think I need to expand it a bit. So this month (in part motivated by the fact that it’s the shortest month, and also because I won’t travel as much) I also going to focus on my physical health.

Anywho, quite awhile ago I posted a health challenge I saw on pinterest. Out of the blue I happened to think about it last night while chatting with a friend, so I thought I’d revisit that and make my own health challenge (and I apologize in advance for those who don’t like alliteration).

  • Meatless Monday: go meatless for the day
  • Tone it Tuesday: whether it’s yoga or weight-lifting, it’s time to do some strength training
  • Workout Wednesday: work out at least 60 minutes (normally I go to zumba on Wednesday, which I LOVE, but for two Wednesdays this month I’m out of town so it’s my incentive to counteract all the eating out I have to do while I travel for work)
  • Thirsty Thursday: drink at least eight 8-ounce glasses of water
  • Fruity Friday: eat at least one fruit with every meal
  • Wacky Weekends: try something new, whether it’s a health recipe or new workout

I think I’m going to set it up similarly to my pop consumption (or soda, if that’s your word of choice…). I don’t want to punish myself for not following my guidelines (otherwise the whole thing could end up being miserable). Instead, I’ll mark on my calendar if I accomplish it and see where I stand at the end of the month.

And there you have it. Another set of goals! (I have to admit that I wouldn’t be surprised if people were thinking, “Oh my gosh, enough with the goals, Liz!!” Don’t worry – I’m half thinking that, too!)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

