Happy ending

I should really live somewhere where the weather is 60 degrees year round.

My mood immediately changed once I stepped outside to the sun shining in 60 degree weather. My car windows were open the whole way home and I kept my apartment porch door open most of the evening.

Mix the fresh air with the scent of freshly ground coffee (I was too lazy to grind my coffee for the week yesterday so I had to do it today…) and I was on cloud nine. Even as I did my dished, I was surprised by how calm and happy I felt. It really is the little things in life.

With a clean kitchen, I thought I’d go big for dinner. Since my chickpea salad used similar ingredients to the Mediterranean chicken recipe I talked about on The Modern Parsonage (I did say it would become a staple!), I decided to tackle dinner while also tackling tomorrow’s (and Wednesday’s and Thursday’s….) lunch. Talk about multi-tasking.

Surprisingly, I didn’t burn anything AND both dishes were done at the same time. That takes talent! It was almost like I was in the zone — I didn’t even use recipes for either, which made me feel even better about my evening cooking ventures. And just in case you didn’t get the photo on Bri’s blog, I thought I’d post a new one. Ta-da!

After a fabulous dinner, I indulged in The Bachelor (guilty pleasure that I always swear I won’t get roped into but also do…) — at the gym. Brownie points, right? Mostly, though, I was just surprised by my sudden surge of energy and how great I felt by the end of the day. It was a good reminder that even a blah day can turn around (with a little help from the great weather).

Let’s just hope this energy lasts through tomorrow, too (since we know the amazing weather won’t, given that it’s the last day in January…)!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

