Food for thought

I’ve started about half a dozen posts these last few days and ended up scrapping all of them. They were either too whiney or didn’t really have a point. No one, including myself, would benefit from anything I wrote.

Truth be told, I’ve been feeling a bit lackluster lately. Haven’t had much time to cook or craft and I’m not immersed in any great books (although I’m still listening to the Geography of Bliss — it’s really making me want to travel).

And thankfully my busyness wasn’t all work related. Saturday I got to spend the day in St. Louis, and while the city hasn’t fully grown on me, I thoroughly enjoyed the St. Louis Science Center (saw Tornado Alley and realized I should have followed my initial dream of being a storm chaser/meteorologist) and the Anheuser-Busch tour. I also got to see a Blue hockey game, which was even more exciting since one of the players on the opposing team was a guy I watched play for our USHL team for three years before he went on to play hockey for my Gophers. Love.

But I digress. I was talking about my lack of inspiration.

My normal gusto isn’t fully back, but what surprisingly pushed me a step in the right direction today was my fortune cookie at lunch (which is random, I know). I actually hung it up on my bulletin board because I liked it so much.

“You have a charming way with words and should write a book.”

I don’t know that I want to write a book, but I realized that I’ve been neglecting something that usually brings me excitement and even some clarity — my blog. And I think what I really loved about the fortune was the word charming. It just seems fitting for my writing style and the type of writing I enjoy. And even though I may not have a lot of updates or ponderings on happiness lately, what counts is that I’m writing and still connecting with readers.

If nothing else, it’s a start. Here’s to me getting back on the blogging bandwagon!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

