Win some, lose some

As much as I hate to admit it, I made a meal that I wasn’t over the moon about. (It’s also added a new question about the recipe book I’ll be crafting next month — do I include recipes I probably won’t make again?)

Back to the meal. Last night my old roommate and I decided to make chicken vesuvio. It was pretty comparable to the Mediterranean chicken recipe I talked about on The Modern Parsonage last week, but it lacked the flavor. We actually threw in kalamata olives and mushrooms, which helped, but it was still didn’t wow my tastebuds.

I think the other part of it was that we got adventurous and used chicken legs, since I’d never really worked with them. Now that I’ve done it once, I probably won’t feel the urge to cook with them again.

The dessert was a bit more successful, which I guess is what really counts. The lemon-blueberry yogurt loaf dish we decided on was actually quite delightful, and even made for a great breakfast this morning paired with coffee. We decided to only do the glaze instead of the syrup and glaze, since using both seemed a bit excessive.

While the meal wasn’t a home run (random word for me, I know, but I watched Moneyball after dinner, so it seems fitting for some reason) I’ll likely try making the lemon blueberry dessert as muffins next time. At least for me, you can’t go wrong with fruit and a little lemon zest.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Win some, lose some

  1. So glad to hear you enjoyed the loaf. It is definitely one of my favorites! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

