Cooking chronicles

Don’t mind the title — I’m just a sucker for alliteration, especially when I can find a clever way to tie it into the actual post.

Here’s my conundrum: In the last year or so I’ve really gotten into cooking, and there are some recipes that I definitely want to make again but don’t know by memory yet. Since I primarily cook with my old roommate, we started a googledoc to track all the recipes we try. I’ve also been able to use my blog to talk about dinners we’ve whipped up, too. It’s been fabulous, but I feel like I need to make hard copies.

My primary issue is that with my blog and googledoc, I just link the website where I got the recipes. What if the link someday disappears? What if I want to make dinner without having to pull up my computer. It’d be nice to have something in my kitchen that I could just grab or look through when I want to cook a tried-and-true recipe.

Growing up we had a recipe box that I still love to pull out and sift through. I love the idea of having a box, but I feel like just having the recipe written down isn’t enough. Since I’ve got the photos, I kind of want to somehow incorporate those to jog my memory of how the recipe turned out.

The question is…what’s the best way to do it?

I feel like something like this would be a bit too intense for what I’m trying to do. It’s almost too scrapbook-y to where I likely wouldn’t update it as much as I should. The idea of using a 4×6 photo album caught my eye, since I could have the recipe on the top and a photo on the bottom. And then it’s a question of whether you make it authentic by writing out the recipe, or if you copy and paste into a Word document to print. Decisions, decisions.

Does anyone have a way of tracking their favorite recipes? Any suggestions or hints for making a modern recipe book/box?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

3 responses to “Cooking chronicles

  1. I have this same problem. All my recipes are either in email links on the computer or random scraps of paper in the pantry or in magazines (Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food is amazing!). I think a recipe box is sweet but I like the photo and recipe better in an album better. You may have inspired me to do something about my own cluttered recipes!!

  2. Holly Miller just showed me what she does- she took a photo book and did photos on top and recipes (handwritten) on bottom. We do ours typed out, and then put in a binder with clear plastic covering them- and just add on to that every year. Works pretty well!

  3. lovelylizzie

    Thanks, ladies! I think you’ve got me sold on the photo book or photo album (although I’ve started wishing that I took photos of the individual recipes instead of the whole meal…). I’m making it my goal to craft it in February once I have all the photos printed, so I’ll be sure to post photos of the final book.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

