Friday all-nighter

Before I dive into my post, I want to give my apologies for the lack of a guest post on Wednesday. Things have been a bit hectic this week, but I can offer a rain check. I think.

Anywho, tonight I’m doing something a little unconventional. Actually, it slightly hearkens back to my undergrad days of Dance Marathon, although it won’t be that major.

One of my monthly goals for the year is to volunteer. I could count the time I spend with my adopted grandmother, but I feel like that’s kind of a cop-out since it’s a given that I’ll see her once a week. To best honest, I haven’t actively been searching for things to do this month. By happenstance, though, an opportunity fell into my hands on Wednesday and (I’ll admit after a little hesitation) I jumped at it.

When I went to the quiet day last month, my mentor told me that she, along with a few others, was the volunteer coordinator for the Room at the Inn in Columbia. It’s at temporary homeless shelter set up for the winter months. What makes it really cool is that this shelter is run entirely by volunteers and donations. I told her to put me on the email list and that I’d look into volunteer.

Lo and behold, I got an email earlier this week that they didn’t have anyone to cover the overnight shifts for Friday and Saturday. When I told my roommate I was debating whether I should do it, she said she’d do it with me since she’s used to working overnight shifts at the hospital. Not even 24 hours later, I was signed up to man the emergency shelter with my roommate on Friday from 11:3o p.m. to 6 a.m.

Ay caramba!

In all honesty, though, I’m really excited to do it. I’m nervous about being able to stay up (a great excuse to indulge in coffee all evening, though!) and what I’d do if something were to happen, but I think it will be a great experience for me. Not only is it cool because of my line of work, but I also think it’s going to be another one of those times when I’m reminded of how lucky I am. How could I pass that up?

Wish me luck!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Friday all-nighter

  1. Bri

    You’ll do great! I used to work at a drug rehab facility for adolescents and the overnights were always the best shifts.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

