Two down, ten to go

Yesterday I put my second clothespin in the jar, and I must say, it felt fantastic.

By happenstance, Gretchen Rubin posed a question on facebook on Tuesday about books that have changed people lives. I sifted through the 200+ comments, stealing all the fabulous book recommendations. Ten minutes later I was eagerly searching amazon and the library website, starring books on my list that I absolutely had to read and crossed out ones that weren’t as up my alley.

That evening before I went to zumba, I went to the library (and left vowing once again that I would someday checkout a a reasonable number of books… 11 books in 3 weeks? If only!) The second I got home, I spread out my books options on the coffee table and mulled over which book I would dive into first.

My first read? How Starbucks Saved My Life. About 24 hours later, I was done.

Given that I constantly talk about my coffee obsession, I feel like I have to say that the fact that it was Starbucks had nothing to do with why I checked out and read the book (although I have to confess I had to brew a pot of decaf coffee while reading it…). I don’t want to give a book review (for that, you’re better off reading my dad’s blog), but I did feel inspired enough to write a brief post about it.

I think what really drew me into the book (aside from the coffee) was how relatable the character’s story was for me. While the author’s life changes were certainly more drastic than mine have ever been and occurred for different reasons, starting my first “grown up job” in social services proved to be more overwhelming than I thought. Even today I still question if I have what it takes to do the job well and really understand people.

The book often made me think about first Project Homeless Connect experience last fall, which is something that will always stick with me. My mom always reminds me of the adage that you can put everyone’s problems into a hat or circle, and you’d rather walk away with your own. This book reminded me of that. Actually, it was like an unintentional happiness project.

But it wasn’t just the book itself that I enjoyed. I forgot how much I love getting lost in a book. As of late I’ve been reading books about happiness and life, which while great, don’t really allow you to get caught up in a gripping story. I’ll also read the occasional chick lit/romance book, but that’s not nearly as rewarding to finish. It was great to want to stay up late and rush through my to-do list so I could curl up on the couch with a great book.

Speaking of which, I believe it’s time to start my second book….

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

